Wood Ducks

Well, it’s been a very long time since I’ve seen any of these lovely birds. Yesterday we had a visit from a male and female Wood Duck. I saw them foraging around in the grass in the afternoon. Very calming to watch.

These ducks actually look more like a goose, and they are alternatively known as a Maned Goose or Maned Duck. These ducks can grow up to 51cm in length. As you can see in my photos, the male duck has a dark brown head and mottled breast while the female has white stripes around the eye and is mottled underneath. They both have grey wings.

The Wood Duck is a common bird found everywhere in Australia. They habit open woodlands, grasslands, wetlands, and along the coast in inlets and bays. You can also see them in suburban parks. These ducks eat grasses, clover and herbs and sometimes insects. You don’t often see them on the water because they prefer looking for food in shallow water or grasslands.

Enjoy this video I took of the two ducks wandering around our home foraging for food.

I’ll keep my eye open for these two turning up again, and hopefully we might get to see some ducklings come spring!