It’s a bee! It’s a wasp! No, it’s a hover fly!

hover fly

 

It’s been really hot here recently, which is a worry because it’s not even half way through the spring season, and early the other morning I saw this little insect flying amongst weeds and flowers. I think I have seen them before but not bothered about them, so I had to do a bit of research to find out what it actually was.

Turns out it’s a hover fly, also known as a flower fly.

These insects mimic wasps and bees and can be found throughout Australia. They hover in one spot, then move suddenly forward or backward or even sideways and then hover again. They range from 1cm to 2 cm in length. Hover flies linger in gardens to feed at flowers and to seek shade. They also help rid the garden of aphids, as they lay their eggs in aphid colonies and the larvae (maggots) feed on the aphids. Hover flies even pollinate many plants.

Here’s a short video I took of the hover fly I saw the other day.

Have you seen these insects in your backyard?