Birds Checking Out The Real Estate

Well, it’s been barely a week after putting up a number of animal nesting boxes around our property and there’s already been some interest!

I saw this pair of Rainbow Lorikeets checking out a feathertail glider box.

 

And then a galah was also seen checking it out later on. This was very surprising because we rarely see galahs here.

Then I noticed a pair of galahs inspecting a kookaburra nesting box.

And then the same pair spent a considerable amount of time investigating the possibility of a possum box for their nest.

Hmmm .... This looks promising.
Hmmm …. This looks promising.
I'm a bit worried it's in the middle of a flight path .....
I’m a bit worried it’s in the middle of a flight path …..
Nice and roomy for the littlies.
Nice and roomy for the littlies.
I like it! Shall we take it?
I like it! Shall we take it?

At this point, the galahs haven’t moved in, they seem to be flying around the area checking out prospects to bring up a family. They have been back to the possum box a number of times this week. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see if they like the neighbourhood. 🙂

If you’d like to see what animal boxes we put up last week you can read my post here.