Sacred Ibis with Babies

Today I had the pleasure of seeing something I have never seen before – a baby ibis!

We’ve all seen those funny looking white ibis birds scrounging through the rubbish looking for scraps, and I have to say, I never really gave them a second look. Until today.

My husband told me during the week that he spied some ibis in the treed area behind his work and offered to take me there on the weekend so I could see for myself.

There seems to be a colony of around 20 ibis living in this narrow green corridor between an industrial estate and a motorway. It’s like a little green oasis for them. It’s noisy with lots of traffic whizzing past, well it was loud when we were there on a Saturday morning, I can only imagine it would be much worse on a weekday at peak hour. There’s even a little creek running through it.

Here’s a photo of one of the ibis with a front view and a side view. They have such a long curved beak!

This video clip shows three ibis in the trees preening and you can see and hear the cars and trucks hurtling along the road behind them.

While we were there watching the birds, movement caught my eye. It was not one, but two, baby ibis in a nest! Take a look at them in this short video clip.

This ibis is called a Sacred Ibis or a White Ibis and can be found nearly all over Australia. I have to say, I was quite intrigued by watching them in this small green patch of nature. It makes you see them in a different light. They seem to have adapted well to Man’s encroachment on their habitat. I know some people don’t like them, but they are a native bird of Australia and they are very interesting to watch in a non-manmade environment. And what a bonus it was to see baby ibises!