Bee Happy!

By a stroke of luck yesterday, I happened to spy the insect who has been visiting our insect hotel, you may remember my thoughts about it in my previous post. This time, I caught her in the act!

I was able to get some good photos and video of her in action which allowed me to do a proper internet search and discover what exactly she is and what she is doing.

Turns out, she is a Golden Browed Resin Bee. That’s right, a native bee! Here’s my best capture of her so you can get a good look at her interesting beauty –

This little lady is also known as a Red Faced Mastic Bee. She is part of the leafcutter bee family and her correct name is megachile aurifrons.

She selects a home, stores some pollen and nectar, lays an egg, then seals the hole with a mixture of resin and chewed up green leaves. As you can see, she has been quite busy, with three homes sealed so far.

Here’s a video of her in action –

Now I just have to keep an eye out for when the babies leave their homes. 🙂