The Crow Family

Many people don’t like crows and consider them a noisy pest. I don’t know much about them but I became interested in them when I realised we seem to have a regular pair of crows hanging around our place. Last year they were around and had babies but we didn’t really get to see much of them, but this summer I have seen the whole family.

The bird I am writing about here is what I think is a Torresian Crow. There are several species of crows and ravens in Australia and it is difficult to properly identify which bird it is unless you are able to get up real close and inspect their feathers. My crow family isn’t that friendly, so I’ll just go with what I believe they are and if you feel I’ve got it wrong, just let me know. 🙂

This is a photo of one of the parent crows, I think it’s the female, and she is looking a little harried, and possibly moulting too.

Here’s a photo of one of the first times I saw a young crow back in December. He was having a drink of water from our pond.

And here are recent photos of 2 of her young ones.

In December 2015, I started seeing the parent crows with their 3 young ones not long out of the nest, flying around and still being fed by their parents. The first thing I noticed about the juvenile birds is that their eyes are brown instead of the brilliant blue eyes of the adults (some say the eyes are white but they look blue to me!).

This video I took on 23 December 2015 shows a parent with a juvenile. Looks like he’s kind of hungry but is being ignored, so he considers if he can eat a bit of bark!

This video I took more recently on 7 February 2016 is of a juvenile crow calling for food, or maybe practicing his call, not sure. A few times he sounds rather weak, so maybe he’s playing it up to mum or dad hoping he’ll get fed.

Here are my latest photos of 2 of the juvenile crows. It was a really hot summer’s day which is why their beaks are open, plus they were taking it in turns calling for their parents, or more likely, for food.

And then I happened to catch this interesting moment –

And lately iIt’s also really noisy at times. I’m hearing lots of more of the classic crow call “aark aark”. It sounds like a parent checking on the whereabouts of their kids. I hear one start up the call and then immediately hear the “aark aark” coming from other directions close by. I read that the juveniles stay with the parents for a few months so I think they will still be around for another month or so yet.

 

Interesting Trivia Bit – Torresian crowns mate for life and have permanent territories ranging from 100 to 200 hectares.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Crow Family

  1. Thanks Denis. Yes, for a large bird, they are very skittish so it can be hard to get photos of them. It also seems to be quite a struggle for the parents feeding their young ones. I have seen the parents find a cracker biscuit and a hard slice of bread from somewhere, and dunk it in our pond before flying off with the babes in tow. It’s great that you have water around that your ravens can access, I’m sure they appreciated it with your very hot temperatures down there. You might see them with young ones again next summer. 🙂

    Like

  2. Great images, videos and commentary Sue. Down in my patch of suburban Melbourne we have Little Forest Ravens. They are predatory during the nesting season and are constantly harried by many other species. During our really hot spell in January we had parents and 2 fledglings in our yard behaving like you describe. They dominated the water bowl for close to a week then disappeared.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.