I Spy Little Dragonfly

For a long time now I have wanted to be able to get a photograph of a dragonfly, but the darn things fly so fast and sporadically I can’t keep up with them, and when I spy them sitting still, I’m not quick enough to get the camera positioned and focussed in time before they fly off. However, my wish was answered last Monday!

I had actually grabbed my camera and headed off into the yard with the purpose of taking a photo of something else when I saw a dragonfly staying very still on some flowers. I immediately got my camera ready thinking that it was going to fly away any second, but to my amazement the dragonfly stayed where it was. It was like the dragonfly wanted its photo taken! Incredibly I got some really nice shots which I am very happy with. As soon as I had decided I had enough good photos and started walking away, the dragonfly flew off.

Even as I write this, I still feel amazed at the opportunity I was given that day.  The world certainly works in mysterious ways. 🙂

7 thoughts on “I Spy Little Dragonfly

  1. Awesome photo, Sue. I spent several times chasing dragonflies over Easter. We visited a manmade lake and I have never seen so many at once, several different sorts. Well captured.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree Sue, they are difficult to focus on, you have done well with the pictures you have posted. I am amazed at how many different kinds of dragonflies there are, as each time I take a photo they appear to be different. Enjoy your week:-)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.