Wildlife Visitors in April

This is my first participation in a monthly event called Wildlife Wednesdays hosted by Tina of My Gardener Says …..

It’s autumn here in Australia and the weather is still warm and dry where we live in Queensland. We live on a few acres just on the edge of suburbia. We don’t have a proper garden because the land is hilly and rocky, you just can’t dig a hole without hitting a boulder a few inches down! So we just have natural bushland on our property and so we get a fair bit of wildlife visiting.

Here are my photos of some of the wildlife that came visiting our place during April.

I was quite lucky to get a good photo of this Damselfly.

flatwing damselfly australia
Flatwing Damselfly

 

This is a Magpie Moth.

australia magpie moth
Magpie Moth

This is a common Western or European Honey Bee. Looks loaded with pollen!

honey bee
Western Honey Bee

These are Rainbow Lorikeets, we get quite a few visiting regularly. They have quite a personality and their antics are very entertaining.

rainbow lorikeets
Rainbow Lorikeets

These spiders are quite common in gardens and backyards.

st andrews cross spider
St Andrews Cross Spider

These pigeons are common and make a whistling sound with their wings when they take flight.

crested pigeon
Crested Pigeon

Found some aphids on the milkweed.

aphids
Milkweed Aphids

These ladybirds love eating the aphids!

ladybird ladybug
Ladybird

I was walking under a tree out the back when some little berries started falling down around me. When I looked up, I spied this pair of King Parrots.

male king parrot
Male King Parrot

 

female king parrot
Female King Parrot

Discovered this tiny White Crab Spider on some billygoat weed.

crab spider
White Crab Spider

This small bird is a Noisy Miner, appropriately named!

noisy miner
Noisy Miner

This is a Crow Butterfly.

crow butterfly
Crow Butterfly

Of course, everyone will know what this bird is!

kookaburras sitting on a tree branch
Laughing Kookaburras

We have several Brushtail Possums visiting regularly, but because they are nocturnal, it’s difficult to get photos of them. This boy is sitting in the bird feeder dish!

brushtail possum
Male Brushtail Possum

Sometimes we find possums in the possum boxes we have around here. This young lady is currently occupying a box we placed in an outside laundry. I left her a bit of banana to eat when I did a load of washing and snapped a photo of her. Looks like she dropped it in surprise!

brushtail possum
Female Brushtail Possum

This striking looking small bird is a Pied Butcherbird. They have one of the most beautiful songs I’ve ever heard. We have several adults and their babies visiting frequently.

Pied Butcherbird
Adult Pied Butcherbird

 

pied butcherbird
Juvenile Pied Butcherbird

 

This is a Magpie. Their carolling is very melodic and beautiful to listen to. We have a pair that live on our property and raise babies each year. This year they managed to raise three!

magpie
Adult Magpie

 

magpies
Juvenile Magpies

I hope you have enjoyed seeing the diverse range of wildlife that have been visiting us. I’ll leave you with this short video I took of some Rainbow Lorikeets. One particular day in April we had an unusually high number of these birds turn up for an afternoon feed. I don’t remember seeing so many ever before. It was very noisy!!

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Wildlife Visitors in April

  1. Hi Sue, I am very glad to have found you now! Wonderful post and gorgeous photos, you have so many exciting visitors, the Rainbow lorikeets are stunning and so exotic, like nothing we have here. Love the quote too you have on the bottom of your page – so true. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Julie and welcome! The rainbow lorikeets are very funny to watch, they get up to all sorts of mischief, but they can get extremely noisy at times, especially when there are a lot of them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Denis, sometimes I forget just how much wildlife there is around here until I start collating it all. 🙂

      Like

  2. Well I just oohed and aahed my way through this blog post. I can’t even PICK a favorite photos–they’re all so great. I love the macros of the insects though–beautiful–the aphids, little white spider, the lot! And, lots of great bird shots! I’m interested in the plant that you called “billygoat weed”? Do you know its botanical name? It looks like something that is native here in Texas, commonly called Gregg’s Mistflower–botanical name is Conoclinium greggii. It was a real treat to see your wild things–I do hope you’ll join in again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tina. The blue billygoat weed is ageratum houstonianum and is also called floss flower. In Australia it’s an introduced weed, as pretty as it is. It does get confused with mistflower, also a weed here, so I think it’s the same plant family.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful pics Sue. I especially like your Pied Butcherbirds. I do with one would fly into my backyard, I do love their song. We have a visit from the Grey one every morning several times. There certainly is no shortage of Rainbows, we have millions down here too:-)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.