The Magpie Whisperer – Book Review

 

This is quite an amazing non fiction book by an Australian woman who turned her backyard into Magpie Manor – a kind of drop in centre for wild magpies where they can come and go as they please, forage for food in the yard, sunbathe, splash in a pool, play with colourful toys, and even hang off the Hills Hoist!

The Magpie Whisperer introduces us to her 3 favourite magpies that she has developed special bonds with. She relates interesting stories about how the friendships started, what the magpies get up to, and how these wild birds have not only captivated her heart but become lifelong special friends and helped her deal with her anxiety.

The book is easy to read and enjoyable because it’s not just big blocks of text. There are plenty of fantastic photos of the magpies in action as well as funny things like the scrapbook section plus interesting trivia and snippets of information.

I have been a fan of The Magpie Whisperer on Instagram for a while now, her videos of magpie antics really make me laugh, and I was excited to finally see her book published and just had to buy a copy immediately. I really love this book and it has given me a few ideas of things I could try in my own backyard for my own visiting magpies.

The Magpie Whisperer is a book I will get out and flip through and read again and again, and I recommend it if you are already a follower of The Magpie Whisperer or if you’re someone who loves magpies or who appreciates that birds have intelligence and personalities like us.

Visit The Magpie Whisperer’s website for more information about The Magpie Whisperer and the magpies in her backyard, as well as for links to purchase the book and watch her entertaining magpie videos. There are also links to follow her on social media so you don’t miss all the magpie shenanigans. 🙂

Please note that I purchased a copy of The Magpie Whisperer of my own volition and the views expressed in this review are my own and have not been influenced in any way.

 

5 thoughts on “The Magpie Whisperer – Book Review

  1. Wow – what a wonderful book, thank you for sharing . Magpies lie crows are so maligned by humans.
    yes, they sometimes peck heads, but really, they are protecting their young. what mother doesnt protect her young if endangered? magpies have never bothered me, cause i treat them with respect and are not frightened of them. crows also – so hated by humans – why? they provoke in humans their own fears of mortality, and those who havent come to terms with their own mortality, blame the crows, rather than face the fact of their own lives and deaths. oh well, that was my evenings rave! looks like a great book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Debbie. I’ve never been bothered by these birds, and they are only defending their young if they do swoop, not on a hate campaign against humans.:)

      Like

  2. Hallo Sue
    Thanks for this post! I hadn’t heard the Magpie Whisperer’s story before. I’ve just started following her on Instagram, now that I’ve seen the pics in your post.

    Coincidentally, a magpie perched in a tree near me yesterday and sang for about an hour. Most of the sound was the usual magpie yodelling, but every now and then it sounded like other types of birds and even perhaps human whistles. I tried to make a video, which I’ll take a look at soon. It was difficult, because the magpie was very high up, the cicadas were shrilling, and the neighbourhood sounds were in full swing too. If the video is worthwhile, I’ll post it on my blog. The sounds made me wonder if the bird had been a close companion to a human for a while.

    Cheers
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How lucky to have a magpie singing for you for such a long time! I’ve been finding the young magpies around here doing the same thing, practising for ages, it’s so lovely to listen to. I wonder if they do actually incorporate sounds from other birds and humans, especially if living in the suburbs. Would make for an interesting study!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.