Up Close With A Dragonfly

I had quite an amazing little experience the other day. I was out in the yard with my camera and saw a dragonfly flying around and I thought it would be nice to get a photo of one.  As I’m sure you know, dragonflies don’t often stay still for very long and it is quite common to miss the chance to photograph them. Only a few moments later, I was walking through some tall grass and a dragonfly flew right in front of me and landed on a grass stalk. I quickly switched on my camera, expecting it to fly off at any given moment, but surprisingly, it stayed there. For quite awhile, actually, occasionally turning around to face me. I could not believe my good fortune, so I snapped some photos and even got some video.

 

This is a short video I put together and consists of 3 videos combined into one and you can watch the little dragonfly moving its head around and even cleaning its face. I have used a stabiliser to steady the vision otherwise it would be jumping all over the place.

I’m not sure if this is a dragonfly or damselfly, but whichever it is, I am especially pleased and grateful for having this incredible opportunity to witness it up close and see the detail in these little creatures and also get some amazing photos and footage of it.

11 thoughts on “Up Close With A Dragonfly

  1. Lovely shots Sue, I have only had one instance where I got a really good one also, had it put on canvas I was so pleased with it. I know what you mean about trying to focus on them. The detail is beautiful. I would go with Dragonfly on elimination: wings out not against body, wing venation distinct in clear wings, wing sets are different, eyes to the front of head. The size is another factor, if it is Dragonfly size it probably is, the Damselfly is smaller, sorry if I am declaring what you already know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Ashley. It was a little confusing to work out what it was when I searched the internet, but yes, I agree with you, it appears to be a dragonfly. I may have a go and try now to identify what type of dragonfly it is, just out of curiosity.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great shots. I’ve watched dragonflies zooming back and forth for ages thinking they MUST land soon but I’ve never had one pose for me. I enjoyed your video especially seeing the dragonfly wiping its face.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.