A Slithery Visitor

Last weekend I came across an unwelcome visitor – of the slithery kind.

I had my camera on me and was walking in my yard when I heard the rustle of dead leaves nearby.  I went closer to take a look and got a bit of a shock to see this –

This is a Yellow Faced Whip Snake.  This one was about 30cm or so in length, but they can grow up to a metre long. These snakes are common throughout most of mainland Australia and are venomous but not deadly, and the bite is apparently very painful. They are a very fast moving snake. They eat frogs and lizards and can catch a lizard on the run. This was the first snake of its kind that I’ve seen, and I hope I don’t see another one anytime soon!

I have to admit, I’m not a fan of snakes, so I kept my distance, especially as I didn’t know what type of snake it was at the time. The quality of these photos isn’t that great because I used a zoom on my camera since I didn’t want to get too close. On these couple of close up shots you can see the different colours it has. They are generally a grey-brown colour with a red tinge near the head and a grey-green-yellow-olive tinge to its body.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

11 thoughts on “A Slithery Visitor

  1. Great shots and story Sue. You have to admit its beautiful. I grew up near a river and snakes were a part of life, Tiger, Black and Copperhead, they never worried us but the cats used to kill a few. I stood on a Copperhead one day it went one way and me the other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Denis. Your cats must have been fearless when they saw a snake, my cat saw a carpet python once travelling alongside the cat run and the cat hissed at it and ran inside the house! 🙂

      Like

  2. Great photos, especially given the constraints! We occasionally see grass snakes here and they are harmless, but they are still scary to encounter. (I think it is the way that they move that freaks me out).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wanted to comment on the possum post, but comments were already closed! I almost couldnt bear to look at the poor possums dermatitis. thank god for Currumbin, hey? I was rewarded by seeing the healthy joey at the end of the post. thank you for educating us all about this disease of our lovely native fauna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Debbie, it was a very educational experience with the possum, I’m glad we were able to save her. And comments are closed after a month because I get too much spam otherwise!

      Like

Comments are closed.