Wildlife Visitors in June 2017

June was the start of winter here in Australia, and here in SE Queensland we’ve had quite mild temperatures and lots of sunny days except for a weekend of good solid rain.

I started to see more of these pretty birds, a pale headed rosella, but they are quite timid things and it’s always hard to get a good photo of them. As you can see in this photo, the bird was watching me to make sure I didn’t get too close.

paleheaded rosella

This is a rare photograph of the male and female pair of pied currawongs that live around my house. Β The male is on the left. These are one of my favourite birds.

pied currawongs

There is still some activity by the monarch butterfly and the caterpillars are eating what little is left of the milkweed.

monarch caterpillar

monarch butterfly

The kookaburra family is still around, I often see them sitting in the gum trees around the house and hear their laughing calls early in the morning and in the evening. This is one of the juveniles catching some early morning winter sun.

kookaburra in tree

I came across this ladybird which I’ve never seen before, it’s a yellow shouldered ladybird. It looks quite hairy!

yellow shouldered ladybird

On the rainy weekend in June, we had lots of feathered visitors wanting a quick feed as well as shelter out of the rain. Look at this line up of rainbow lorikeets!

rainbow lorikeets

You can see a video I took of these birds visiting in the rain in my earlier post here.

Earlier that day, this sulphur crested cockatoo turned up wanting to pick a fight with the lorikeets over what was left in the feed dish. The little birds held their ground and the big cockatoo quickly gave up and left in disgust.

cockatoo and lorikeets

And for a brief moment, these noisy miners got a look in at another feed dish while the lorikeets were occupied with the cockatoo.

noisy miners

Here’s our local magpies, Igor and Maggie, casually strolling around the yard searching for bugs. You can see more photos of these two in my earlier post here.

australian magpies

One day I managed to capture these juvenile magpies (Maggie and Igor’s offspring) play fighting in the yard. I had to film this through the window.

These two sulphur crested cockatoos turned up one morning looking for trouble. I was watching them closely to see what they were up to, but after trying some berries on the nightshade tree then flying onto the house roof peering down at me and realising I wasn’t going anywhere, they both flew off with a loud screech.

sulphur crested cockatoos

Possum box regulars, mother Heidi and baby Chloe, are still enjoying their sleeping quarters after 4 months. Now that the weather has turned cooler, I’m sure they’ve laid claim on the box for the winter duration.

brushtail possum
Chloe on the left munching on a snack and mum Heidi patiently waiting for hers.
brushtail possum
Chloe mid-bite enjoying some banana.
brushtail possum
Chloe getting stuck into a bit of carrot. She really loves her food!

You can see more of these two possums in my earlier post here.

Nightly regulars Mummy possum and her joey snacking on peanuts on their way through.

brushtail possums

And here’s Mummy possum just chilling in the bird feeder.

brushtail possum

You can read more about Mummy possum here.

And finally, I’ve seen quite a few king parrots visiting the nightshade tree. They love eating the berries. The female is mostly green while the male is splendid in his bright red and deep green colouring.

male and female king parrot

male and female king parrot

These parrots are hard to get pictures of because they’re easily frightened, especially the females. I wonder what the neighbours think when they see me tip toeing along the veranda in slow motion trying not to scare the birds away! πŸ˜€

This is my participation in a monthly event called Wildlife Wednesdays hosted by Tina of My Gardner Says… You can see the wildlife visitors of other participants here.

11 thoughts on “Wildlife Visitors in June 2017

    1. Thanks! The noisy miners are appropriately named and gang up on other big birds and bully them. Don’t be fooled by their appearance! πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. Thanks Denis. Years ago we used to get a regular flock of cockies numbering between 20 and 30 that turned up. We went through lots of bags of sunflower seeds for them and my husband even got to hand feed and pat a couple of the more game ones. But then they got too demanding and became very noisy, and when we lost our TV reception because they had chewed through the wires, we stopped feeding them and just ignored them and after a short time they stopped coming. So now we only get the occasional cockie coming to check us out. I wonder if the ones that visit now might be part of the original group that used to visit and are forever hopeful of some more seeds to snack on.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Amazing Sue how many visitors you get at your place. Lovely to see they are all cared for so well, it must give great delight and satisfaction helping make them feel at home πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Ashley. It’s comforting to have them around, even when they get out of control sometimes, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hallo Sue
    A lovely post! The one of the big cockatoo and the little lorikeets is hilarious. About the neighbours: One day, I was standing on the roadside gazing up into the trees, and someone from a neighbouring house came out to ask if I was all right!
    Cheers
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many beautiful colorful birds. I think you have more rainbow lorikeets than our zoo. The nightshade tree looks like a feast for the birds. Possums are cute and it’s fun to see their babies up close, we have quite a few but I rarely see small ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Shirley. It’s funny how the parrots and cockatoos like the nightshade tree when it’s an introduced species. We have a couple of these trees on our property and were going to chop them down but when we saw birds visiting to eat the berries we decided to leave them.

      Like

  4. I’m always amazed at your birds! They seem so…exotic, as the only way I’d ever see them is in a zoo or aviary. Your little possums are so cute, I’m sure they thing they’ve snagged a good place with you, given the carrot and bananas that are available. I hope your winter is a good one–thanks for joining in this month!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.