Wildlife Visitors in July 2017

The month of July was actually the warmest July in Australia on record – no wonder it didn’t feel like mid winter! Here in Queensland, there was only a day or so of rain and the rest were sunny with clear blue skies. On the weekends I was out and about in short sleeves, often in temperatures of 25 degrees Celsius. Looks like spring will be coming early and we may be in for a long hot summer. The wildlife must be feeling the change in the air too. I’ve already seen a magpie flying over with a stick in its beak heading off to make a nest, and also a kookaburra preparing a termite mound for their nest, same place as last year.

So here are photos of some of the wildlife visitors to my place during July.

This Crested Pigeon was busy eating some little seeds that had fallen from the nightshade tree. You can find out more about this bird here.

Crested Pigeon

This Yellow Faced Whip Snake was sighted almost in the same place as the last one I saw some time ago, likely the same snake. You can see more of this snake here.

Yellow Faced Whip Snake

This Ichneumon Wasp is only 1cm big, I’ve seen a few of these around now.

Black And White Striped Ichneumon Wasp

This spider is a Plebs eburnus or Eastern Grass Orb Weaver and is barely 1cm in size and is endemic to Australia. They have a web that shows the time, 5 minutes to 5!

Eastern Grass Orb Weaver

A healthy looking male of the pair of Pied Currawongs that live around my house. You can see more of these birds here.

Pied Currawong

One of the family of four Pied Butcherbirds that often visit.

Pied Butcherbird

I rescued this Monarch Butterfly from a spider web.

Monarch Butterfly

Some Rainbow Lorikeets having a feed. You can see more photos of these birds when they sheltered on my veranda during a rainy day here.

Rainbow Lorikeets

An adult and juvenile Kookaburra.

Kookaburras

I was taking photos of these pretty sweat peas one afternoon then later realised I captured an aphid on one!

Aphid on a sweet pea flower

A commotion one afternoon drew my attention to the return of a Pacific Baza. Here he is in the middle of eating something he caught. You can find out more about these birds here.

Pacific Baza

A Hoverfly can be hard to get a good photo of, but it stayed still for this portrait.

Hoverfly

Here’s something I’ve never seen before – a Sunskink, possibly a dark flecked sunskink. It’s only about 10cm long. Sorry for the quality of the photo, it was on zoom so I didn’t scare it away.

Sunskink

I busted this Brushtail Possum cleaning up the leftovers of the lorikeet food in the bird feeder.

Brushtail possum

This is a Common Crow Butterfly. They are slow flyers and this one stayed still long enough for me to get some nice shots. Read more about this butterfly here.

Common Crow Butterfly

And lastly, I spotted this Eastern Rosella checking out one of our glider nest boxes for a possible nest, but the entrance hole is far too small for them so they’ll have to keep on looking.

Eastern Rosella

Thanks for visiting and reading about my backyard wildlife visitors. 🙂

This is my participation in a monthly event called Wildlife Wednesdays hosted by Tina of My Gardner Says… You can see the wildlife visitors of other participants here.

 

13 thoughts on “Wildlife Visitors in July 2017

  1. Sue beautiful photos, with the exception of the beak the kookaburras look very cuddly and the common crow butterfly looks anything but common to me, it is so interesting seeing wildlife I have never seen before, Frances

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful selection this month! I’ve never heard of a sunskink before. I like his go-faster stripe though. Your butterflies are so beautiful. The Common Crow butterfly is a graphic artist’s dream I imagine. Butterfly Conservation are promoting ‘butterfly’ teeshirts here this weekend and this would be a wonderful image for one. Nice shot of the whip snake too. His scales look holographic almost.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was great to see the sunskink (which I had never heard of before either) but I am kind of concerned for it though because it was sighted in the same place as the whip snake ……..

      Like

  3. Your wildlife is so fascinating especially when combined with your observations and experiences. I especially enjoy the many bird personalities you feature. The Pacific Baza has a great profile with that crest. Skinks are a challenge since they are lightning fast so telephoto is just about the only way.

    We have whip snakes here in Texas, fortunately ours are non-venomous since one bit me on the hand back in my teen years. I can confirm snake bites are painful so give them plenty of space.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Never been bitten by a snake and I don’t intend to either, they creep me out too much so I only appreciate them from afar, and with a zoom lens! 😀

      Like

  4. A great showcase of a variety of our creatures Sue. I have to say the Pied Butcherbird is one of my favourite sounding birds, from my youth. I have always loved its sound. Sadly we do not see them in Sydney, only the Grey, which I also love, and is such a happy soundly guy. The snake is one guy I would not like to see, as lovely as he looks in your photo. Have a great weekend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been fortunate to have the pied butcherbird family turn up to sing their songs on the veranda and in the trees around the house in the last few weeks, more so than normal, but sadly the magpies are now chasing them away, as well as the other birds. But at least I can still hear them singing in the trees further away.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. wow, you’re winter is warmer than our current mid-summer. We have temperatures between 12-20°C instead of 25-30°C. constant rain instead of sun 😦 cruel summer. it seem, we have a fifth season now: monsoon between a short summer in May and fall

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Once again, you’ve outdone yourself, Sue! Such great shots–I especially like the whipsnake, beautiful capture and of course all your bird shots are wonderful. Warmest July, eh? We’re all subject to the global weirding, I suppose. I hope you’re not too dry? Thanks again for joining in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Comment

